Does Size Really Matter?

Does size really matter? Well… does it?

That’s what I wanted to know when I was first embarking on my first woven wrap purchase. I was fairly comfortable with my one size fits all stretchy wrap, and was shocked to learn that woven wraps weren’t the same. I was daunted by the fact that I had to choose between a variety of lengths, and confused when people/companies listed their wraps for sale sometimes with a 2, 3, 4, 5 or a 6 next to them, and other times with a 2.6, 3.6, 4.2, 4.6, 5.2, and all numbers in between. It was like being transported back in time to a math lesson on integers and decimal points, and I wasn’t happy to have to process numbers that I didn’t understand the meaning of just to shop for a woven wrap.

So what did I do? Well I posted a question on an online babywearing forum asking, “what size woven wrap do I need?” The consensus was overwhelming that I definitely needed a size 6 in order to be able to do any carry imaginable. So off I went to search for a size 6 wrap, and I found a great deal on the swap on a long size 6, 4.9 meter length, well loved, soft and floppy Hoppediz. Once it arrived I was so eager to try it out, but was quickly disappointed when I learned that the wrap that was supposed to allow me to have infinite carry options didn’t work for one single carry I tried. Thing is, when I posted my question on the forum, I didn’t give any details about MY size, and nobody asked. A size 6 is a perfect size for most people to start with, but I am extremely petite and was literally drowning in fabric with my size 6. I couldn’t pull off one single carry without having the worlds longest tails left over, and it was impossible for me to learn on. I loved the wrap so much though, and ended up chopping it down to the right size, 4.2 meters. After finding the right length of wrap to fit my size, I was a lot more successful with learning to wrap!

So does size matter? YES!!! Your size matters AND the wrap size matters!!! I had to use some trial and error to figure this out, which worked out in the end but was definitely a pain! My goal as one of the leaders of Babywearing International of Kansas City is to provide people with better ways of figuring out what they need before they buy it. The babywearing playgroup and Happybottomus meetings held each month are fantastic ways of trying before you buy, especially when it comes to seeing the difference between woven wrap lengths and figuring out which one is the right fit.

This month our Happybottomus meeting (Thursday September 1 from 6-9 pm) will be dedicated to all things wrap related, and finding the right length is going to be a main talking point. We will have a chance to try out a variety of wrap lengths, talk about what carries each length is best for, and help you hone in on your wrapping personality. I am excited to provide new wrappers with the opportunity to do a little hands on investigating, and also look forward to hearing the stories of more experienced wrappers! So mark your calendars babywearing friends! Bring your wraps and your stories!!!

Leave a Reply

