Member Profiles: Mary

We’ve asked some of our local members to share what they love about babywearing and our local community.  Mary can often be found at the Midtown meetings.

 

Mary baseball

How many kids do you have and how old are they?

.

      One daughter, 22 months old.

.

.

How did you discover babywearing and BWI and how old was/were your child(ren) when you became active in the community?

.

     A friend gave me a hand-me-down ring sling before my baby was born. Then my husband and I bought an Ergo with baby shower gift cards. I did not wear her a lot when she was a newborn. I didn’t really know anything about babywearing, and our Ergo sat in the box for a long time. But once we started taking her to sporting events, then I began to love the convenience of babywearing because you can’t really take a stroller inside a Royals or a Mizzou game. I think I found out about BWIKC and started coming to meetings when she was 8 months old maybe. I wish I had known about BWI long before that!

.

Mary Mizzou

In what ways do you feel like babywearing has transformed your relationship with your immediate family?

.

     No transformation really, it’s just part of our life.  I do enjoy trying to convert all of my pregnant friends and telling them all about the many types of carriers out there.

.

.

.

What are your favorite things about babywearing and favorite parts of being a BWI member?

.

      Babywearing is the best way to go outdoors without a stroller, and definitely makes traveling easier too. My daughter likes to walk a lot now, but with the Tula, it’s really easy to get her in and out of the carrier as needed. I just keep it on me until she’s ready. After she walks a while and gets tired, she’s usually pretty happy to go up and asks to “ride back” (ride my back). I also like to keep her on my back if we are shopping or walking anywhere crowded where I don’t want to be chasing her around. I like being a BWI member because I can try new carriers just for fun, meet new people, and learn from everyone!

.

.

Who attends BWI meetings with you?

.

      I’ve brought friends and babies along, but mostly just myself. I attend the Midtown meeting occasionally when my work schedule allows.

.

Mary husband

.

What is your favorite carrier type and what is on your babywearing bucket list?

.

      I just got a toddler-sized Tula recently and it is my favorite. I think I have tried just about every type of carrier (wrap, mei tai, SSC, ring sling) and a SSC has worked best for me. I’d like to become a better wrapper and use my wrap more… maybe someday with a second baby?!?

 

 

If you would like more information about meetings, membership, or BWI of KC in general, join our Facebook page.  If you would like to have your “profile” featured on our blog to share the reasons you love babywearing and our community, please email us at kc@babywearinginternational.org

 

Carrie Agnew, VBE and Vice President of BWIKC

me

Leave a Reply

